Is Kraft Parmesan Cheese Gluten-free? Yes, Kraft Parmesan Cheese is gluten-free, but it doesn’t say so on the label. So how do we know that it is? Read on as we share our findings and conclusions on the gluten-free state of this brand of parmesan cheese with you.
Knowing the gluten status of food is incredibly important, particularly if you have underlying health conditions like non-celiac gluten allergens or celiac disease.
For a popular household cheese like Kraft Parmesan cheese, it is without a doubt necessary to know its gluten status, especially if you’re the type to host friends and make cheesy meals. Let’s find out more about Kraft Parmesan cheese.
What is Kraft Parmesan cheese?
Kraft Parmesan Cheese, a product of Kraft Foods, is an Italian-style pre-grated parmesan cheese with a bold taste and tangy flavor that is great to use in preparing pasta, seafood, pizza, salad, and more.
Kraft Parmesan Cheese is a household name as it is easy to use and adds great flavor to meals. Its pre-grated nature saves valuable time in the kitchen, and it is a great taste enhancer with its sharp, tangy, nutty flavor.
What is Kraft Parmesan made of?
Kraft Parmesan cheese, as listed on the Kraft website, contains the following ingredients: Parmesan cheese (pasteurized part-skim milk, cheese culture, salt, enzymes), cellulose powder, and potassium sorbate to protect flavor. Milk is the only listed allergen.
Is Kraft Parmesan Cheese gluten-free?
Yes, even though Krafted Parmesan Cheese is not labeled gluten-free, the ingredients used in the production of this cheese do not contain gluten. The label also does not indicate any gluten allergen warnings. The only allergen stated is milk, which we can also see is a part of the ingredients.
Which Parmesan cheese is gluten-free?
Authentic parmesan cheese is naturally a gluten-free cheese. In terms of Parmesan cheese by brands, they are most likely gluten-free, except gluten was added during processing. We have created a list of brands below, Kraft included, with gluten-free Parmesan cheese:
- Kraft Foods: It is not labeled gluten-free but contains gluten-free ingredients.
- Milano’s Grated Imported Parmesan Cheese: It is labeled gluten-free.
- Mama Francesca: It is labeled gluten-free. Offers a range of gluten-free parmesan cheeses.
- 4C Premium Grated Cheese: It is not labeled gluten-free, but have only Parmesan Cheese as its ingredient.
- BelGiosio: Labeled gluten-free.
- Andrew & Everett Hormone Free Grated Parmesan Cheese: Gluten-free, no preservatives.
- Igourmet Parmigiano Reggiano Cheese: Voted best Parmesan in America. Gluten-free.
How do you know if cheese is gluten-free?
Natural cheeses of all kinds are typically gluten-free. These are plain, full-fat cheeses that do not contain flavoring or ingredients of any kind. If the cheese is processed, ensure to check the packaging for the ingredients.
Cheeses labeled to contain wheat, barley, rye, or their derivatives would contain gluten. Those labeled as low-fat, low-salt, or fat-free may also contain gluten. Full-fat cream packaged with crackers or wheat-related products would also most likely contain gluten.
The bottom line is, as much as possible, read labels to be sure of the gluten status of the cheese. We recommend checking out what ingredients you don’t understand—like modifiers and preservatives—are made of, as most modified wheat starch contains gluten.
- Are Cheese Curds Gluten free? Facts, Types and Recipe
- Where To Buy Pumpkin Rolls With Cream Cheese Filling
- Is Panera Feta Cheese Pasteurized?
If you were worried about getting Kraft Parmesan Cheese on your grocery store run because you weren’t certain if it’s gluten-free, you now have been cleared of your worries on this matter. As an extra, we also threw in several other options of branded Parmesan cheese you might want to try if you aren’t a fan of Kraft’s.
As a rule, if you’re trying to avoid gluten-free foods or cheeses because of a health condition or personal preference, make sure you always read the label on the product before you drop that item into your basket. There are laws in place to ensure that companies list out all ingredients used in production, especially ones that may affect health.