Is Raclette Cheese Lactose-Free?

Is Raclette Cheese Lactose-Free? Notable Facts

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest

Raclette cheese is a very tasty treat and a good choice when making meals, whether at home or at public events. However, some raclette lovers are concerned about the lactose content of this cheese, and it is not abnormal, as generally, some people are lactose intolerant. Is Raclette Cheese Lactose-Free?

Is Raclette Cheese Lactose-Free?

 

To discover if this cheese is lactose-free or not, it is important to know the manufacturing process of the cheese in question.

Is Raclette Cheese Lactose-Free?

Raclette cheese is completely lactose-free. This is because, during its production process, lactose naturally separates from proteins and fat.

In addition to this, the producers of the cheese remove any leftover lactose found in the cheese within the first few hours of its ripening process.

Based on these, raclette cheese is free of lactose, and people who are sensitive to lactose have no problems with consuming the cheese.

READ ALSO:

How Do I Make Raclette Cheese?

The steps to making your raclette cheese, whether for personal use or public consumption, are quite simple and interesting.

Again, although the processes of making and melting the cheese are quite similar, in that the requirements are the same, the results are different.

To make and melt raclette cheese, both require cooking the cheese, and the same tools. When melting this cheese, you are simply heating it until it becomes soft and sticky.

To make raclette cheese, on the other hand, you would need the cheese, a skillet, a stove or oven, a spatula, some potatoes, thinly sliced onions and ham, and bread.

First, preheat your skillet over medium heat. Then cut up your cheese into thin slices and place them on the grill. Allow it to cook. You would know that your cheese is ready when it turns brown.

Once ready, scrape it off the skillet with your spatula, and then serve it with potatoes, onions, and bread. You can choose to serve raclette cheese with other meals as well.

How Do I Eat Raclette Cheese?

It is perfectly fine to eat raclette cheese on its own. However, it is not at all recommended to eat this cheese in its raw form. This is because raclette cheese is a semi-hard cheese, and it is made with unpasteurized milk.

The type of milk used in making the cheese can contain bacteria, which causes foodborne diseases. Hence, it is best to cook all your raclette cheese before eating it.

Interestingly, there are a lot of food options you can choose from to enjoy this cheese. If you do not prefer to eat the cheese on its own, you can have it with the traditional serving of potatoes, onions, and pork.

You can also use the raclette cheese as a topping for pizza and pasta. Again, this cheese can serve as a filling for crepes and quesadillas.

Furthermore, there are options for grilled cheese sandwiches, breakfast burritos, baked potatoes, baked macaroni noodles and cheese, and even roasted potatoes.

You can also enjoy your omelettes, steak, burgers, and grilled portobello mushrooms with raclette cheese.

The list continues, as each meal with raclette cheese on the side promises a great culinary experience. So, even though you can’t eat this cheese in its raw form, you can have it on its own, or with other treats.

READS ALSO:

What Other Cheeses Taste Like Raclette Cheese?

There is no need to feel anxious if you want to cook and discover that you do not have any raclette cheese left. You can simply use some other type of cheese in its place.

These types of cheese have similar flavours to raclette cheese, and would not alter the taste of your meals. First, there’s the reblochon cheese, which has a nutty and buttery flavour. Gruyere cheese is also available for use, with its Swiss origin and similar nutty taste.

Moreover, you can use comte, gouda, and appenzeller cheeses in place of raclette cheese. All the types of cheese mentioned above are filled with nutty tastes, just like the raclette, so there is no doubt that you would enjoy your meals just the same.

Conclusion

An additional benefit is that raclette cheese is inherently lactose-free, regardless of whether it is produced with fresh, raw milk, pasteurised milk, or flavourings like bacon, garlic, paprika, pepper, or truffles. Therefore, people who are lactose intolerant or who typically experience digestive issues from lactose can also safely and happily consume raclette cheese.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
Pinterest